Rules are rules!

Earlier today, I led a session for our U12 Girls introducing them to indoor hockey. As you can imagine, some of the tackling was ‘interesting’ and the technical skills on show would have made the Germans sit in a corner and rock, but by the end of the session they were in a much, much improved place.
 
We gave them tennis balls to practice their passing and receiving, as well as their ball manipulation so they had to deal with the hyper-reactive ball.
 
The interesting part for me was the ‘game’ part of the session. None of the players knew the rules so I tried something I’d never done before…
 
When a player is fouled / wins a foul, they must shout out what the foul was for. If they can identify the correct rule, they get to keep the free hit. If they are wrong in the rule identification, they lose possession.
 
Anyway, it was something new for me so I thought I’d share.

2 thoughts on “Rules are rules!

Leave a comment