Goodbye Ghana… for now

Ghana Pic

Another (short) programme in Accra, Ghana complete and now I’m back on a plane to England.

As always, the women’s National Team were fantastic, as were the coaching staff. It’s such a shock to think we started this project just over three years ago.

They are now preparing for the African Cup of Nations in August followed hopefully by the Commonwealth Games and a World Cup. Who knows if the last 2 are possible, but I’m sure anything is possible if you’re willing to do what it takes.

Sadly, My involvement in this FIH programme may well have come to an end, but it is with a LOT of regret. It genuinely feels like I’m going home every time I’m in Ghana, which is a huge credit to the hockey family out there – the players, the management team, the board, and the volunteers.

I’d like to say thank you to FIH, Africa Hockey, UK Sport, and England Hockey for making this life changing programme happen. The players have been transformed, and it has been an honour to be part of the process.

I’d also like to say a big thank you to some special people who have given me support along the way. Mike Joyce, Siegfried Aikman, Lucy Moore, Michel Kinnen, Mark Jarvis, and Andre Oliveira. You guys have made the last three years so easy and full of learning. 1, 2, 3… X

Leave a comment